pasobnutri.blogg.se

Alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover
Alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover












I won’t go into the details of the story – what’s the point? If you don’t know the story of Alien, rent it immediately or miss out.

Alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover movie#

Created from a screenplay, they turned around and made the movie, then made the book off the movie/screenplay – one rarely thinks of this book offspring when they hear the word “Alien.” The movie is better too, but for fans of the series, especially completionists, this spawned book is a good addition to the shelves. They are the most horrifying thing in the movies, too.Īlien…a classic, epic movie. A bit too great if you ask me, but that's a matter of taste. And the facehuggers are described in great detail. Once the action starts, everything runs smoothly.Īs with all novelizations, we get a lot more details and nuances. It didn't disappoint, even if the beginning was a bit rough. I've known about the novelization for a few years now, so I said it was finally time to give it a try. The 1979 movie is a classic, and you should watch it. A bit too great if you ask me, but that's a matter o Most of us know what Alien is about. As with all novelizations, we get a lot more details and nuances. Once the action starts, everything runs smoothly. *Walden Books was also where I first experienced the Rocky Horror Picture Show.įor a current feel of claustrophobia, dread and creatures trying to kill people (all in a funny way) check out But I was going back to school on Monday with a rock solid impersonation of John Hurt hatching that space bug out of his chest.Īs for the book itself - best literary experience I'd had at that point in life even better than "How to Eat Fried Worms" or The Hardy Boys stuff. When it was all over I felt like things were going to rupture out of me too. Success this time - I was in!!! Forgot to pee, however, but there was no way I was going out to the restroom and risk not getting back in. Then I took a bus back to the Lincoln Mall cinemas, bought a ticket to some lame "Benji" sequel and took another stab at sneaking into Alien. Backed into a corner, I defended my falsehoods by accusing them of covering their eyes cause they were chicken or that they were in the bathroom barfing during the scenes in question.

alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover

Naturally this all led to puzzled looks and accusations that I hadn't seen Alien at all. Which also meant I referenced "scenes" which kids who had actually seen the movie didn't remember. Which meant that it had events and dialog which didn't actually occur in the film. Of course, the book was a fleshed out, literary realization of Dan O'Bannon's, et al, screenplay. I gorged on the novel in a weekend and I pawed through the picture book in the store so many times I had a pretty good visual of Alien in my head when I decided to start lying to my sixth grade classmates and claim to have seen the movie. Those last two got me as close as I ever was going to get to the movie until it came out on VHS (which would be contingent on ma getting us a VCR.) Action figures, trading cards, playing cards, comic books, posters, pop-up books, place mats, picture books and one novel (written after the fact). Walden's had the next best thing to a 16mm reel of Alien: a whole section devoted to print paraphernalia of Alien.* They had one hell of a licensing juggernaut for a movie kids weren't supposed to see on their own.

alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover

Not too far down the hall from the cinemas was Walden Books, one of my favorite loitering spots even got locked in the store one night while sitting on my ass reading stuff. When some hair-lipped usher nabbed me trying to sneak into a matinee showing at the Lincoln Mall I still refused to accept defeat. I couldn't fathom such a cruel existence - a Monster-Movie junkie being denied access to the latest, and possibly greatest, creature flick of all time. My mom wouldn't let me see R-rated flicks at the time and most older friends & cousins were afraid of my mother so they wouldn't take me either.

alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover

Now,I was 11 years old when Alien came out. When some hair- Greatest book in the whole frickin' universe!!! (of course, having read it over 30 years ago this won't be a highly detailed review.) Greatest book in the whole frickin' universe!!! (of course, having read it over 30 years ago this won't be a highly detailed review.) Now,I was 11 years old when Alien came out.












Alan dean foster alien resurrection hardcover